Dem Vinyl Boys

Dem Vinyl Boyz Ep 30 - Minutes to Midnight


Dem Vinyl Boyz are back this week to drop the needle on Linkin Parks third studio album, “Minutes To Midnight.” This album is the band’s follow-up album to “Meteora”, and features a shift in the group’s musical direction than the 2003 sessions while working with producer Rick Rubin. For the band, the album marked a beginning of deviation from their signature nu metal sound. The album was produced by Mike Shinoda and Rick Rubin, and debuted at number one in the US Billboard 200 and in 15 other countries, including the United Kingdom and Canada. In the United States, the album had the biggest first week sales of 2007 at the time, with 623,000 albums sold, going on to be certified five times platinum in the US. It was also certified double platinum in New Zealand, Italy, Ireland, and Australia and certified platinum in Canada, France, Switzerland and in the UK.

In an interview, lead singer Chester Bennington explained that the album is “a mix of punk, classic rock, and hip-hop standards” and that “Rick has brought more of a stripped down, classic-rock and hip-hop kind of feel.” The bands goal for this album was to portray themselves in a different way and showcase a new style of their music. Five singles were released from the album: “What I’ve Done”, “Bleed It Out”, “Shadow of the Day”, “Given Up”, and “Leave Out All the Rest”. “Given Up” had already charted on the Billboard Hot 100 and Billboard Pop 100 charts at numbers 99 and 78 respectively in 2007, and “Leave Out All the Rest” had already charted on Billboard’s Pop 100 chart at number 98 and Billboard’s Bubbling Under Hot 100 Singles chart at number 17 in 2007. Despite its commercial success, Minutes to Midnight received mixed reviews from critics. Rolling Stone magazine, however, named it the twenty-fifth best album of 2007.

Thanks for tuning in to Dem Vinyl Boyz, like and subscribe!!

More Episodes:

Podcast Playground Live

Current track