Dem Vinyl Boys

Dem Vinyl Boyz Ep 41 - Def Leppard Hysteria


Dem Vinyl Boy’s are dropping the needle on Def Leppard’s “Hysteria” which is a timeless rock masterpiece that continues to captivate audiences with its infectious energy and melodic anthems. Released in 1987, this album marked a significant turning point in the band’s career, showcasing their evolution from a hard rock sound to a more polished and radio-friendly style. With its slick production, memorable hooks, and soaring vocals, “Hysteria” solidified Def Leppard’s status as one of the biggest rock bands of their era.
The band members of Def Leppard during the recording of “Hysteria” were a group of talented musicians who each contributed their unique talents to the album. Joe Elliott, the lead vocalist, delivered powerhouse vocals that became the heart and soul of Def Leppard. His range and emotive delivery brought each song to life, conveying both vulnerability and strength with equal passion. Rick Savage, on bass, provided the foundation for the album’s rhythm section. His precise playing and grooves drove the songs forward, giving them a pulsating energy.
Despite a tragic accident that resulted in the loss of his left arm, drummer Rick Allen’s determination and resilience allowed him to continue playing. Using a customized electronic drum kit, Allen’s innovative approach brought a unique sound to “Hysteria” and showcased his exceptional talent. Phil Collen and Steve Clark formed a formidable guitar duo, defining Def Leppard’s signature sound. Collen’s tasteful and melodic playing, combined with Clark’s fiery and energetic style, added depth and richness to the album’s sound.
“Hysteria” features a collection of memorable songs that showcase Def Leppard’s ability to craft infectious rock anthems. The album kicks off with “Women,” a high-energy track with a catchy chorus, soaring guitar solos, and a driving rhythm section. It sets the tone for the album, demonstrating the band’s knack for creating instantly captivating hooks.
Another standout track is “Love Bites,” a power ballad that became the band’s first number-one hit. The song showcases Def Leppard’s ability to create emotionally charged and radio-friendly songs. Joe Elliott’s heartfelt vocals and the haunting melody leave a lasting impression. Meanwhile, “Pour Some Sugar on Me” stands as the album’s most iconic track, with its high-octane energy and infectious chorus. It epitomizes Def Leppard’s stadium-rock sound and has become an enduring classic.
The title track, “Hysteria,” is a perfect blend of hard rock and pop sensibilities. Its memorable guitar riff, anthemic chorus, and Joe Elliott’s dynamic vocals make it an unforgettable song. “Armageddon It” is a hard-hitting track that showcases the band’s ability to create heavy, guitar-driven rock songs, while “Gods of War” addresses the impact of war and its consequences. With its epic soundscapes, poignant lyrics, and intricate guitar work, “Gods of War” stands as a testament to Def Leppard’s songwriting prowess.
Overall, “Hysteria” is a masterful album that not only propelled Def Leppard to new heights but also left an indelible mark on the rock music landscape. Its infectious energy, memorable hooks, and impressive musicianship continue to resonate with fans old and new. Whether you’re a longtime fan or discovering Def Leppard for the first time, “Hysteria” remains an essential listen, showcasing the band’s talent, creativity, and ability to craft timeless rock music.

More Episodes:

Podcast Playground Live

Current track